Portsmouth clubs & organizations

TCC's student clubs and organizations offer diverse opportunities for you to to get involved in your campus and the community. Joining a club or organization can help you make new friends; develop leadership skills; support causes important to you; and put your classroom knowledge to use.  

Find your club and get involved today! 

Have questions about starting a student organization or club, promoting upcoming events, or reserving space for meetings? Contact:

Alicia Philips
Associate Director, Portsmouth Student Center
Phone: 757-822-2929
Email: aphillips@tcc.edu

Academic-Related

Art League

Purpose: Expand educational opportunities of student artists, encourage interaction between art students and Visual Arts Center alumni, promote independent art events, advocate for student needs at TCC and promote creative ideas and the diverse interests of student artists.

Advisor:
Ed Francis
efrancis@tcc.edu
757-822-1893

Criminal Justice Organization

Purpose: Provide students with educational and networking opportunities in law enforcement.

Advisor:
Richard James
rjames@tcc.edu
757-822-2123

Human Services Association

Purpose: Mentor the professional development of future human services professionals and assist in the facilitation of their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities and career guidance.

Advisors:
Diane Wagner
dwagner@tcc.edu
757-822-1999

Maria Day
mday@tcc.edu
757-822-2777

Mu Alpha Theta

Purpose: Stimulate interest in mathematics by providing public recognition of superior mathematical scholarships and by promoting various mathematical activities.

Advisor:
Julia Arnold
jarnold@tcc.edu
757-822-1323

Student Nursing Association (SNA)

Purpose: Mentor the professional development of future nurses and assist in the facilitation of their entrance into the profession of nursing by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance.

Advisor:
Catherine Merritt
cmerritt@tcc.edu
757-822-2738

Honor Societies

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Chi Mu Chapter

Purpose: Organize, recognize and elevate high achievers by offering scholarships as well as career and graduate networking opportunities.

Advisor:
Robert Cooper
rcooper@tcc.edu
757-822-2346

Leadership

Student African American Brotherhood (SAAB)

Purpose: Focus on producing positive, productive young men and women and to enhance personal well-being while reaching out to neighboring communities provide leadership and mentoring opportunities to young male students struggling with academic or personal issues and provide a positive element for their future.

Advisor:
Vincent Tucker
vtucker@tcc.edu
757-822-2206

Student Government Association (SGA)

Purpose: Establish channels of student-faculty-administration communication, to develop campus and college activities, to encourage participation in campus and college life, to develop student responsibilities, and to protect individual and student group freedoms in all areas.

Advisor:
Alicia Phillips
aphillips@tcc.edu
757-822-2929

Service

Rotaract Club

Purpose: Promote scholarship, the development of leadership, and services and cultivation of fellowship among qualified TCC students.

Advisor:
Doris Stith-Obie
dstithobie@tcc.edu
757-822-2175

Nita Wood
nwood@tcc.edu
757-822-2396

Specialized

Anime Club

Purpose: Promote the appreciation of ancient and modern Japanese culture through animation and graphic novels as well as build positive social interaction and camaraderie among students; allow students to enjoy a friendly, peaceful, competitive environment and to increase knowledge of gaming culture and careers.

Advisor:
Brian Brooks
bbrooks@tcc.edu
757-822-2004

Looking for help?

Send us your questions
* All fields are mandatory