

Chesapeake Campus Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

April 28, 2016 Room 4318, Chesapeake New Academic Building

Attending Senators:	Rianna Amolsch (Lady Duchess of the Motor City) Kevin Brady Joy Yaeger Jeannie Taylor Vincent Gary Bobby Rowe Kelly Gillerlain David French

Guests: David Kiracofe Emily Wilson Jennifer Hopkins

The meeting began with an introduction by the chair of the Chesapeake Faculty Senate Rianna Amolsch, who welcomed the group and called to order the regular meeting of the Chesapeake Faculty Senate.

Next, Rianna Amolsch provided the group with a recap of the Course Scheduling Policy, and she asked faculty members to provide feedback on the policy to her by May 6th.

Amolsch and Kevin Brady provided the group with updates as well as answered questions about the Program Leads and Discipline Leads Pilot Program. Amolsch and Brady mentioned that faculty members who served as Program Leads and Discipline Leads would receive release hours for their various tasks and responsibilities.

After Amolsch finished her Chair Report, she moved on to Kevin Brady's Secretary Report:

Kevin says he is good!

Then, Amolsch moved on to Vince Gary's Student Center Report:

Gary provided the group with an overview of the Student Recognition & Awards Ceremony, which was held at the Chesapeake campus on April 26th. Gary noted that the event was a great success as students interacted with the provost, faculty members, deans, student activities staff members, and others during the ceremony. Additionally, he told the group that Elizabeth Briggs (PTK Advisor) received the Student Advisor of the Year Award.

Joy Yaeger, who is a fantastic librarian at the Chesapeake campus, provided the group with an update about Pathways, which is an online instruction session for faculty members who are interested in using open educational resources for their respective courses. Yaeger noted that two sessions of the Pathways course would be offered during the summer.

After Yaeger finished her Library Report, Amolsch revisited the on-going topic of whether fulltime faculty members can bump adjuncts for overloads at the college.

Amolsch also welcomed Jennifer Hopkins, who is the newly elected Senator from the Division of Business, Information Technology & Public Services. The group wished Jennifer well!

The meeting was then adjourned due to time constraints....Amolsch and others had class at 1:30 PM! Plus, David Kiracofe was getting hungry. :)

The next Chesapeake Campus Faculty Senate Meeting will be held on August 30th at 12:30 in the Chesapeake Academic Building – Room 4318.