Skip navigation

44th Annual Student Art & Design Exhibition Award Winners

Tidewater Community College has announced the winners of its 44th Annual Student Art & Design Exhibition Awards.

Robert Smith

President’s Award, Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani
Robert Smith
“So Beautiful, So Cruel”
Oil and mixed media

Smith’s portrait of his wife, Amanda, combines monochromic work with subdued values. “It sums up my wife’s personality in a positive way,” he said. The professional tattoo artist will earn his Associate of Applied Arts in Studio Arts this fall.

Meghan Fee

Visual Arts Center Purchase Award
Meghan Fee
Oil on canvas

Fee’s self-portrait captures the emotional longing of wanting something you cannot get. “I really love the color palette,” said Fee, working toward her Associate of Applied Arts in Graphic Design.

Other winners:

Vice President’s Award, Daniel DeMarte
Angelina Howard
“After Edward Weston”

Director’s Award, Christina Rupsch
Tyler Greenwell
Drypoint engravingStudent artwork

Provost’s Awards

Michelle Woodhouse:
Kevin McLeod
Large Bottle

Michael Summers:
Deborah Moses

Lisa Rhine:
Shereece Penick
Where the Lava Meets the Sea

Jeffery Boyd
Eric Paredes
ClayStudent artwork

Jerry’s Artarama Award for Fine Art
Vanessa Kiriluk
“Michelangelo’s Creation of Man (style of Picasso)”
Oil pastel

Jerry’s Artarama Award for a Master Interpretation
Ryan Polesko
“La Morte de Marat”
Acrylic on board

John and Karen Kise Award for Graphic Design given in Memory of Dr. and Mrs. Mearl A Kise
Maxwell Allen
2015 Wu-Tang Clan Calendar
Computer generated

Ed and Deborah Gibbs Award for Photography
Amy Banks

Jean Peacock Award for Expressive Content
Amber L.A. Borealis
Touch the Art: Stone Drums
Glass and mixed media

Shelley Brooks & Chrysler Museum of Art Award for Innovation
Aimelie Ronquillo
“Art History Lamp”
Mixed media

Darrell and Sally Craig Award for Drawing
Amanda Wood
“Vaulted Hallway”

Richmond Camera & Portsmouth Museums Award for Photography
Drew Vincent

The Coffee Shoppe & Chrysler Museum of Art Award for Sculpture
Sage McCoy
Cabbage Patch

Lynne Hundley Award of Excellence for Mixed Media
Amy McGrath
“Homage to the Little Shop of Horrors”
Mixed media

Award of Excellence

For Photography
DaiJa Norman
“Intense Serenity”

For Painting
Ivy Garrenton

For Graphic Design
Diane Graham
IPP Punjammie Ad campaign
Computer generated

For Glass
Jennifer Detlefsen

For Ceramics
Elizabeth McCoy
Tea Time

For 2-D Design/Fundamentals
Jung Mi Brambley
“Texture Study: After a Painting by Barbara Wood”

Hartung Gallery Award for Color
Kimberly Thebarge
“Tea Set”
Colored pencil