Skip navigation

Administrators Association

The Administrators Association:

  • Serves as a voice for the administrators and to exercise the authority of the administrators in college affairs;
  • Provides an organization to address issues affecting the college’s administrators, enabling them to contribute in a meaningful way to advancing the college’s mission and goals
  • Operates as a vehicle for regular communication among administrators, the classified staff, and the faculty;
  • Provides support for those college and campus committees that the college deems necessary for the efficient and effective operation of the college; and
  • Promotes a collegial community focused on teaching and learning

Administrator Professional Development Fund:

In an effort to support TCC administrators, professional development funds are available to assist with financial costs associated with attending and/or participating in specialized training, formal education, or advanced learning opportunities that relate to one’s profession, job responsibilities, or work environment.

The Administrator’s Association meets on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 9:00 am.

The Administrators Association comprises all faculty administrators and classified administrators, including those individuals serving in an “acting” or “interim ” capacity.

The Association does not include librarians and counselors or individuals who are represented by other constituent groups. Typically, the members of the Administrators Association are employed via a faculty administrative contract or the serve as “Directors” in Pay Band 6 or higher in the classified compensation system.

The Executive Committee shall be Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Immediate Past Chair, one representative from each campus, one from district office.


  • Misty Lyon (B), Chair
  • Beth Callahan (B), Vice Chair
  • Jennifer Perkinson (D), Secretary
  • Anthony Fontes (N), Representative
  • Kia Hardy (B), Representative
  • Willie Williams (P), Representative
  • ClauDean Kizart (D), Representative
  • Emily Hartman (C), Representative
  • Steven Borden (B), Representative
  • Nicole Wilson (B), Representative
  • Trianne Smith (P), Representative
  • Nancy Prather-Johnson (N), Representative


  • Misty Lyon, President’s Advisory and Planning Council (Standing Member)
  • Beth Callahan, President’s Advisory and Planning Council (Permanent Alternative)
  • ClauDean Kizart, State Appeals Panel
  • Available Upon Request, Faculty Grievance Board

The Administrator of the Year Award is designed to recognize an administrator who has contributed to advancing the College’s mission and goals. The award will be made to an individual who has demonstrated effective leadership in support of the College’s vision and core values.


Diane Ryan, Humanities and Social Sciences Dean, Chesapeake Campus


The individual nominated should be a person who significantly contributes to:

  • shaping and advancing the college’s mission and goal; 
  • promoting opportunities for leadership, training and mentoring; 
  • supporting the efficient and effective operation of the college; and 
  • fostering clear communication among College administrators, faculty, staff and students.


Nominees eligible to receive the Administrators Association Administrator of the Year Award are limited to members of the Association, as described in Section III. Part A. of the Constitution.


Only current members of the Administrators Association are eligible to nominate an individual for the Administrator of the Year Award.


A call for nominations is sent to the membership in March. The members are then asked to choose from among the top 5 nominees.


The recipient is recognized during an Awards and Recognition ceremony held during the College Convocation each August.

The Association appropriate up to $500 to Administrator of the Year Award recipients in support of their professional development activities (subject to fund availability and in accordance with State/College funding guidelines). Award recipients are strongly encouraged to share their expertise through participation in the Association’s various initiatives.


  • 2016-2017: Mr. John M. Morea
  • 2015-2016: Dr. Kellie Sorey
  • 2014-2015: Mr. Steve Litherland 
  • 2013-2014: Mr. Emanuel Chestnut
  • 2012-2013: Mr. John M. Morea 
  • 2011-2012: Mr. P. Randall Shannon 
  • 2010-2011: Mr. Greg P. Frank 
  • 2009-2010: Ms. Cynthia H. Hunter 
  • 2008-2009: Mr. James E. Perkinson 
  • 2007-2008: Dr. Joanne M. Diddlemeyer 
  • 2006-2007: Ms. Christine Damrose-Mahlmann 
  • 2005-2006: Mr. John L. Skrobiszewski 
  • 2004-2005: Dr. Judy B. McMillan
  • 2003-2004: Dr. Diann S. Holt

TCC understands that professional development is critical to our students’ success and we encourage you to apply for funding in order to grow your content knowledge, expand your skill set, and focus on improving our institution.

College Professional Development Funding Application