Skip navigation

Student Art Awards 2012

TCC Visual Arts Center 2012 Student Art Show

President’s Award
Ryan Powell
Glass Billet Fusing Project II
glass and steel

The fused glass piece showcases Powell’s ability to work with a color spectrum and achieve different colors by combining them. Powell, a Purchase Award winner last year, said he is striving to achieve self-satisfaction through creating the perfect piece of glass artwork.

Purchase Award
Norris McClain
Those Demons Are
Friends of Mine
mixed media

Using watered-down acrylic paint, McClain used quick motion and gesture strokes to create a piece “drawn as much with the white as the black,” he said. McClain’s work reflects his fascination with irregular shapes and how they can combine into artwork. He plans to earn an associate degree in fine arts by spring 2013.

Jerry’s Artarama Award for Fine Art
Elizabeth Henry
oil on canvas

Though not superstitious herself, Henry collects objects that have to do with wishing, noting how frequently society falls prey to a ritual for nonsensical reasons. Henry will graduate this fall with an associate degree in studio arts with an emphasis in fine arts. She hopes to open her own gallery.

Jerry’s Artarama Award for Master Interpretation
Patrick Quinn
Blue Horse After Chagall
oil pastel

Quinn said it was the first time he worked with pastels, initially an intimidating process because of their unforgiving nature. His love of expressive art, particularly van Gogh, was his inspiration. A Studio Arts major, Quinn hopes to attend film school in the future.

Other winners from the 41st annual show are:

Vice President’s Award
Susan Whalen
My Grandfather’s Palette
oil on canvas
Provost’s Award
Heather Sutherland
glass and metal
Provost’s Award
Joshua Solomon
Sunset Platter
Provost’s Award
Michael Perez
charcoal and paint
Provost’s Award
Jennifer Fagala
Chai Unearthed
John and Karen Kise Award for Graphic Design, given in memory of Dr. and Mrs. Mearl A. Kise
Seth Wilder
Birds of the World
Anonymous Award for Photography
Theo Kleinschnittger
Director’s Award
Mackerrlly Laya
Dr. Samuel F. Coppage Award for Watercolor given in honor of Constance J. Coppage
Shakira Brooks
Float Away
Shelley Brooks & Chrysler Museum of Art Award for Innovation
Ashley Patrick
Positive Energy
mixed media
Darrell and Sally Craig Award for Drawing
Sindy Strosahl
Richmond Camera & Portsmouth Museums Award for Photography
Julie Larkin
Got You Covered
Brutti’s & Chrysler Museum of Art Award for Craftsmanship
Kevin McNiff
Red Teapot
clay and metal
Jean Peacock Award for Expressive Content
Christopher McLaughlin
Why So Serious?
oil on canvas
Award of Excellence for Photography
Janis Benham
Award of Excellence for Painting
Linette Bond
Checkerboard Ballroom
mixed media
Award of Excellence for Graphic Design
Sabrina Chladni
computer generated imagery
Award of Excellence for Glass
Colin McKinnon
Rust With Green Stripes
Award of Excellence for Ceramics
Kun Tang
Tales of Two Cities: Smoke and Cloud
Award of Excellence for 2-D Design/Fundamentals
Karen Ireland
Without Me, You Are Only You
mixed media
Hartung Gallery Award for Color
Bradley Nelson
Bugging Out
oil pastel