Skip navigation

50th Annual Student Art & Design Exhibition goes virtual for a second year

Tidewater Community College Visual Arts Center students are showcasing their work during the 50th Annual Student Art & Design Exhibition that has gone virtual for a second year.

The event features more than 150 works, including studio arts, photography, graphic design, ceramics and glassblowing, created by students for art classes since last March.

The judge for the event was Solomon Isekeije, professor of fine arts and

program coordinator, division of fine arts at Norfolk State University.

Top award winners include:

President’s Award: Brydi Lynn Heebner, Percolator Sam, mixed media
$100 cash award sponsored by TCC President Marcia Conston • $75 museum membership sponsored by the Chrysler Museum of Art

Vice-President’s Award: Tim Pike, Simple Man, photograph
$100 cash award sponsored by Michelle Woodhouse, vice-president for academic affairs & chief academic officer • $50 gift certificate sponsored by the Coffee Shoppe

Dean’s Award: Sharla Cotton, Black and Gray Tea Jar, clay
$200 cash award sponsored by Kerry Ragno, pathway dean, arts & humanities

Purchase Award: Alyson Miller, Eye on the Sparrow, photograph
$500 cash award sponsored by Deborah M. DiCroce • $75 museum membership sponsored by the Chrysler Museum of Art

For a complete list of award winners visit here.

The student exhibition includes a talk from invited speaker Benjamin Gaydos, chair and professor of design, University of Michigan–Flint. The illustrated lecture will take place via Zoom on April 22 at 12:30 p.m. The meeting password is 23501.

For more information, or to inquire about sales, please contact Shelley Brooks at

47th Annual Student Art and Design Exhibition award winners

Tidewater Community College’s Visual Arts Center (VAC) held its 47th Annual Student Art and Design Exhibition awards ceremony on March 31.

Working Man by Rebecca Smith 

Students Tina Stafford, Rebecca Smith and Elizabeth Paker earned top honors.

Stafford won the President’s Award for her photograph titled Fallen Tree “Limbs.” She will graduate in May with her Associate of Applied Arts in Studio Arts with a Specialization in Photographic Media Arts with plans to transfer to Virginia Wesleyan University.

Smith won the VAC Purchase Award for her oil painting titled Working Man. She is working toward her Associate of Applied Arts in Studio Arts.

Paker’s woodcut titled O Jo won the Provost’s Award named for Michelle Woodhouse. The piece is based on a photograph of Paker’s daughter from Halloween. She is working toward her Associate of Applied Arts in Studio Arts with a Specialization in Pre-Art Therapy and an Associate of Applied Science in Human Services.

Fallen Tree “Limbs” by Tina Stafford

The show, which features more than 150 works created by students for art classes since last March, will be on display through April 19 at the VAC.

Programming for the exhibition includes an illustrated lecture by a visiting art historian. On April 11, Kimberli Gant, McKinnon curator of modern and contemporary art at the Chrysler Museum, will present “Legacy of a Curator.” The event will begin at 12:30 p.m. at the VAC in room 208.

Below is a complete list of all student winners.

President’s Award (Edna Baehre-Kolovani): Tina Stafford • Fallen Tree “Limbs” • photograph

VAC Purchase Award: Rebecca Smith • Working Man • oil

Provost’s Award (Michelle Woodhouse, Portsmouth Campus): Elizabeth Paker • O Jo • woodcut

Shelley Brooks Award of Excellence for Sculpture: Alexandra Yvonne • We are Eternal; All this Pain is an Illusion • mixed media

Ed Gibbs Award of Excellence for Photography: Lisa Loy • Misty Morning • photograph

O Jo by Elizabeth Paker

Michael R. Gluse Award of Excellence for Drawing (in memory of Barbara L. Gluse): Jonathan Winfield • Marilyn Manson • scratchboard

Director’s Award of Excellence in Glass: Christy Conley • Tempo di Vetro! • glass

Award of Excellence for Painting: Lakisha Martin • Crumpled Paper • oil

Vice President’s Award (Daniel DeMarte): Alison Miller • LEGO Hamlet • oil

Provost’s Award: (Lisa Rhine, Chesapeake Campus): Ellen Bible • Under the Sea • clay

Provost’s Award (Jeffery Boyd, Norfolk Campus): Taylor Harvey-Thornton • Blackberry • glass

Provost’s Award: (Michael Summers, Virginia Beach Campus): Marcus Whitehead • Helvetica • computer generated

The Coffee Shoppe & Chrysler Museum of Art Award of Excellence in an Open Category: Holly Graves • Honeymoon Balloon • mixed media

Darrell and Sally Craig Award for Drawing: Michaela Bly • Julien • silverpoint & charcoal

Lynne Hundley Award of Excellence for Mixed Media: Forrest Grover • Cycle of Life • mixed media

Judge’s Choice Award (Ruth Jones): Estella Benson-Williams • Checkmate • glass

John and Karen Kise Award of Excellence in Graphic Design (in memory of Dr. & Mrs. Mearl A. Kise): Obed Castro • Re:Re • video

Hartung Gallery Award for Color: Brydi Lynn Heebner • There’s a Silver Lining • mixed media