Skip navigation

TCC President, student part of VCCS strategic plan taskforce

TCC President Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani and John Downey, president of Blue Ridge Community College, will co-chair a 19–member taskforce that will create the next Virginia Community College System six-year strategic plan.

Student Armando Vega is TCC’s other representative. Vega, one of 10 Protein Valley Fellows, is one of two students named to the taskforce.

Glenn DuBois, chancellor of Virginia’s Community Colleges, announced the members of the taskforce that will begin working in January on a process that will last throughout 2014.

The taskforce members are diverse, broadly drawn from most of Virginia’s 23 community colleges and represent all operational areas of a college, including two members of the Virginia State Board for Community Colleges.

“I’m grateful for the leadership, experience and perspective these individuals will bring to this work,” DuBois said. “Individually, these taskforce members are among the star performers at their respective community colleges. Together, they are a powerful reminder of the deep well of talented higher education leaders that make our colleges such powerful resources to the communities we serve.”

Dubois’ announcement comes at the end of a statewide listening tour. The eight-stop fall tour gave DuBois the opportunity to hear directly from elected; community; education; and economic development and business leaders about challenges that would benefit from greater community college focus.

“Increasingly, community colleges are being looked at as the go-to place for bringing a community together and building a consensus for designing its future. That’s a new 21st century role that we are being asked to fulfill, and our community colleges are up to the task,” DuBois said.

The full task force is below.

Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani  l  President  l  TCC
Rick Brehm  l  Vice President for Finance and Administration  l  Germanna
Mikell Brown  l  Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences  l  John Tyler
Jeanian Clark  l  Assistant Vice President Of Workforce Solutions And Continuing Education  l  Lord Fairfax
John Downey  l  President  l  Blue Ridge
Charlie Errico  l  Professor of History  l  Northern Virginia
Angela Falconetti  l  Vice President of Institutional Advancement  l  Virginia Western
Frank Friedman  l  President  l  Piedmont Virginia
Catherine Finnegan*  l  Assistant Vice Chancellor for Institutional Effectiveness  l  System Office
Angeline Godwin  l  President  l  Patrick Henry
Ghazala Hashmi  l  Professor of English  l  Reynolds
Monisha Holmes  l  Student  l  Rappahannock
Tim Jones  l  Director of Information Technology  l  New River
Daniel Lufkin  l  Vice President for Student Affairs  l  Thomas Nelson
David Nutter  l  Board Member  l  State Board
Sheri Robertson  l  Associate Vice President for Academic Services  l  Northern Virginia
Robin Sullenburger  l  Board Member  l  State Board
Donna Van Cleave  l  Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance  l  System Office
Armando Vega  l  Student  l  TCC

*Finnegan is serving as the lead staff member to the taskforce.